Health & Beauty · Living on a Homestead Budget · Money Saving Tips

DIY Deodorant 

I am loving making all my own health and beauty products!  I feel safer knowing exactly what is in them.  I am also enjoying choosing my own scents, and not having to settle for something else.  So many of my products are now lavender scented, and I like that they are all matching up, instead of having tons of different scents going on!

There are many reasons I chose to switch to making my own deodorant; among which are the various toxic chemicals found in store-bought brands (for more information, check out 7 Harmful Ingredients in Your Deodorant and How Dangerous is Your Deodorant?).  You’ll also find that making your own products costs less in the long run; yes, you need to purchase the bulk ingredients first, but they’ll make you several items.  Each deodorant stick I made cost roughly 52 cents to make, as compared to the $1.99 each I was spending at the store.  Also, it’s just plain easy!  It takes about 5 minutes to make, and needs about an hour to set.

You can purchase empty deodorant tubes online, but I chose to save my store-bought ones.  Less cost, and less waste!  Make sure you wash them well with hot soap and water to remove all residue from previous use.

You Will Need:

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup baking soda
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 6-10 drops of essential oil

This recipe will yield you approximately 1 1/2 lady bars or a full men’s bar.

Start by melting the coconut oil.  As it has a high melting melt, it does not take long.  I recommend using a microwave safe measuring cup and microwaving at 15 second intervals.  Remove the cup at each interval and stir the oil until liquefied.

Add in your essential oils first.  I chose lavender oil for my bars, and added about 1/4 teaspoon (approximately 10 drops).  For Jason’s, I went with a combination of 5 drops of cedarwood oil and 4 drops of bergamot oil, giving it a great woodsy and manly scent.

Add in 1/4 cup each of baking soda and cornstarch.

Mix together until smooth.

Pour the liquid (again, nice to use the measuring cup) into your prepared containers until you nearly reach the top.

Refrigerate the deodorant for about one hour so that it solidifies.  Afterwards, you may find it difficult to twist the tube up.  My little trick is to microwave it for just 5 seconds.  It will loosen the bar just enough from the tube so that you can twist it up.

And there you have it, DIY Deodorant!  I used the same printable labels that I used when making my DIY Shampoo For The Whole Family , which can be found here: Printable Labels.  I simply printed them on regular printer paper and attached them with packing tape; simple and basically free!

I’d love to hear what fun projects that you have going on at home, drop me a comment down below or check me on IG as tacklemayhem_susan!  Until next time, have a beautiful and blessed day!

2 thoughts on “DIY Deodorant 

  1. Hey, I see you shared the article one of our members posted about dangers of deodorants. I love your article and we’d love for you to shed some light on making your own deodorants as well as other beauty products for our community at http://www.organics.org! Please reach out to us via contact info on our site.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

