Farmstead Recipes · Soup, Soup, Soup

Hearty Vegan Cabbage Soup 

I love soup.  Seriously, in this house soup is its own food group.  We eat soup all year round; not just when it is cold.  I love experimenting with new recipes and remaking old favorites.  We make Veggie Chili at least once a month.  As long as we call every soup we make “Carrot Soup” Davis will devour it!

A few years ago I was coming off of a detox and was looking to add some delicious and veggie-filled recipes to my repertoire.  I stumbled upon Detox Cabbage Soup.  I love cabbage any way that I can get it.  Unfortunately, every recipe I found started with Lipton Onion Soup Mix.  I try to stick as preservative-free as possible and was not wowed by the idea of starting a yummy soup with a boxed mix.  So I figured, hey, I can do better than that!

I developed a delicious cabbage soup recipe that is filling enough to be a meal itself, and has the added benefit of being vegan (if you’re into that kind of thing)!  Another plus is that this soup only takes about 35 minutes to develop, so it’s a great weeknight meal option.

All of my soups start off by pulling out my two veggie scrap vessels: the crock is food for the worm farm, and the freezer bag holds the scraps that eventually become my veggie stock (check out that recipe here: Vegetable Scrap Stock).  No waste makes me very happy!

Ingredients:

  • one head of cabbage
  • 3 large or 4 medium carrots
  • 3 stalks of celery
  • 1 large onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 5 cups of vegetable stock
  • 1 large can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 can of beans of your choice
  • 2-3 bay leaves
  • 1/2 TBSP basil
  • 1/2 TBSP oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • oil or butter for sauteing

Ingredient Notes:

  1. I prefer using fresh tomatoes in all my soups, but as they are out of season currently I opt for canned.  I did can several jars of tomatoes over the summer but they were used very quickly!
  2. Choose to add beans if you would like.  I add them because I like the flavor they add, and they make the soup more filling.  I usually add black or kidney beans depending on what is in my cabinet.  You can certainly add dried beans as well, just soak them before you use them.
  3. Use the stock or broth of your choice.  I always use my homemade veggie stock because I have an ample supply.  If you prefer beef or chicken stock go right ahead (although the soup will no longer be vegan).

Start by heating oil or butter in a large pot over medium-high heat.  Cut your carrots, celery, and onions into bite-size pieces.  I coarsely chop my garlic.

I always add my carrots and celery first when making a mirepoix (your veggie trio).  Cook these for about 5 minutes.

It’s a great time to open your cans if you are using any.  Remember to rinse your beans!

Stir in your onions and garlic.  Cook them until the onions are translucent.  This should take about 5 minutes.

I take this opportunity to cut up the cabbage.  Start by cutting your cabbage in half.  Then cut a large triangle out of the bottom of the cabbage to remove the stem.

Cut your cabbage lengthwise into long strips.  Then slice through those strips making roughly 1 inch squares.

Break up the cabbage.  It will seem like a lot, but don’t worry, it will cook down!

At this point, add in your seasonings: 2-3 bay leaves, 1/2 TBSP each of basil and oregano, and salt and pepper to taste.  Give it a good stir.

Stir in your diced tomatoes and beans.  Let it come back up to a boil to develop flavor.  This should only take a few minutes.

Pop all the cabbage on top of the mixture in the pot.  Then add in your stock.

Give your soup a thorough stir.  Turn your heat down to medium and cover your pot.  Simmer the soup for 20 minutes.

Remove lid and enjoy!

I like to serve the soup with a toasted slice of my Farmhouse Style White Bread and sprinkle a little Parmesan cheese (they do make vegan varieties) and fresh cracked pepper on top!

I always make large pots of soup because I love leftovers!  I also like to freeze some for nights when I want homemade soup but just don’t have the time.  This soup is a great candidate for freezing because there is no dairy in it.  Simply fill a freezer safe dish with the soup, leaving some headroom for the soup to expand when it freezes.  When you’re ready to eat it, pop it in a saucepan on the stove and reheat it – it’s just that easy!

Leave a Reply

