Farmstead Recipes

Ranch! Mix, Dressing, and Dip

Ranch for me is more like a lifestyle choice than merely a condiment.  I literally gobble it as fast as we buy it.  I have genetically passed this love onto my two-year-old son Davis.  You’re welcome Son.  With ranch being such a staple in our diet, I knew it was one of the key items that I wanted to make myself.  Holy crow, why did no one tell me that it was so easy to do?

For convienence I decided to go with a dry mix that can then be made into both a dressing and a dip.  After tasting it, I can also see using it for ranch potatoes… ranch chicken… ranch crackers… oh, the possibilities!

As always, gather your ingredients first.  Here I shall extol to you the economic benefits of bulk spices!  Skip the spice aisle at the grocery store.  You are literally paying as much for, if not more, for the container your spices come in as the spices themselves.  Instead, hunt down the bulk section in your grocery store.  This unfortunately well-kept secret is usually hidden by the produce section.  I can get up to 4 times the quantity for the price!  For some spices we keep the larger old containers we unknowingly paid the price for, and refill them with bulk spices.  For spices where the containers we not large enough, we invested in small mason jars and purchased the spice lids for them.  A label from my handy-dandy label maker and we’re all set!  The small investment up-front has more than paid for itself in the bulk spice savings.

I digress.  You did not come for my rant, you are here for the ranch!

The spices you will use are:

  • 2 TBSP dried chives
  • 2 TBSP dried parsley
  • 2 TBSP onion powder
  • 1 TBSP dried dill
  • 1 TBSP garlic powder
  • 1 TBSP sea salt
  • 1 TBSP black pepper

You need not make them look pretty and keep them separate as I did, that was merely for visual appeal!

This is another great opportunity to pull your kiddos into the kitchen.  The simplicity of the recipe, straight-forward measuring, and dry ingredients will allow for some great learning without a huge mess (bonus!).

I chose to keep my ranch mix in a mason jar.  I actually think it is kind of pretty, but this comes from the girl that is enamored with water droplets… It is also nice to give it a few quick shakes before using it as the heavier spices will settle.

Let’s start with the dressing.  You’ll need your mix, mayonnaise (seriously, ewe), and sour cream.  A bowl, some measuring cups, and a spatula wouldn’t hurt.

I broke out my label-maker and put the dressing recipe right on the top of my mix jar.

Following the recipe, you’ll use 2 TBSP of mix, 1 cup mayo, and 1 cup sour cream.

Mix together until dry mix is thoroughly blended in.  Cover with plastic wrap and put in the fridge for 1 hour.

After an hour mix in milk to desired consistency.  I used approximately 2 TBSP.  I used unsweetened almond milk to give my ranch dressing a longer shelf life.

For storage in the fridge, another mason jar with a label (of course).  I used an Expo marker to note when the sour cream expires since that had the earliest expiration date.  (As a side note, my jar is over half gone already so I’m not seeing an expiration issue here!)

For ranch dip, all you need is a 16 oz tub of sour cream, 2 TBSP of mix, and a spatula.

Mix and enjoy!  I rarely allow chips in the house, but there is something about ripple chips and ranch dip.  Hey, I was celebrating the success of homemade ranch!  The dip goes great with fresh veggies as well!

As a final note, I wanted to show you the inside of my fridge.  The top row is my inspiration.  The bottom row is the fruits of my labor thus far.  It’s definitely a learning process, but one I have quickly adapted to!  I look forward to canning and the linear processes it entails.  I enjoy being able to experiment with things and find yummy new blends I wouldn’t have originally thought of.  So far I have enough jam and pickles to last us a year (plus gifts), and to me, that’s not only a cost savings but peace of mind as well!

One thought on “Ranch! Mix, Dressing, and Dip

Leave a Reply

