Farmstead Recipes

Pancakes! Mix and More

We eat so many pancakes in this house that they could probably be their own food group!  We love breakfast food, and not just for breakfast.  Nearly a year ago I started making my own pancake mix, and it is so simple I really don’t know why it took me so long to start!  It uses a small amount of sugar which I enjoy for the kiddos.  I hope by the end of this post you will see how easy it is and try making pancake mix for yourself!

Add this to the list of things you know about me: I love my label-maker!  I’m a fanatic, truth be told.

I like the simplicity of having both recipes available right on my mix jar.  It makes it so easy when I need to whip up some more.

All the ingredients are kitchen staples.  One small tweak I have made to the recipe is to use half bread flour (3 cups) and half all purpose (3 cups).  This gives the pancakes a little more rise and overall fluffiness.  Just combine all ingredients in a large bowl, mix thoroughly, and store in an airtight container.

Being that it is so simple, this is one of my favorite kid-friendly recipes.  I let my 5-year-old measure which helps build math skills.  My two-year-old pours and makes a mess.

To make pancakes all you need is 1 cup mix, 1 cup milk, and 1 egg.  Two of my tricks: 1) I pop the milk in the microwave for 30 seconds because warm milk combines with the other ingredients better, and 2) I always use a large Pyrex measuring cup to blend and mix my pancakes because it is so easy to pour.

My kiddos like them silver-dollar style, and the 1-1-1 ratio can yield up to 20 pancakes of that size.

As I said, they never last very long in this house!  Like Banana?  I’ve substituted 1 banana for the egg for yummy and healthy Banana Pancakes.  How about Applesauce?  Again, substitute the egg for 1 cup of applesauce.  I usually add some cinnamon to the mix when making fruit pancakes.  But our favorite way of eating them…

Is Mini-Muffin style!  Super simple and you can make a lot at once, which really comes in handy with the daycare.  I also make a few batches at once, store in a large Ziploc bag in the fridge, and pop them in my son’s lunchbox.  Set your oven to 425 degrees and generously grease your mini-muffin pan.  Prepare pancake mix with your 1-1-1 ratio.  This will yield you 24 mini-muffins.

Fill the holes 3/4 full.  I like making the kiddos a variety so top them as you wish.  This time I did (from left-right) cinnamon, chocolate chips, blueberries, and Homemade Strawberry-Rhubarb Jam (find the recipe here https://tacklemayhemfarms.wordpress.com/2016/08/01/thats-my-jam-pun-intended/).  Filling them also eliminates the need for syrup.

7 minutes in the oven is all the time you need.  This will give you a nice crispy edge.  If you don’t want the crispy edge, turn your oven down to 350 degrees and still do 7 mintues.

Simply flip over your pan and the muffins should pop right out! Cool for 5 mintues and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

